2023 Ventura APCG Annual Meeting Competitions, Grants, and Scholarships

APCG was thrilled to offer more than \$19,000 in support at our Ventura meeting. Here's a shout out to everyone who participated and <u>Congratulations!</u> to the awardees. Also, a special, very heartfelt <u>Thank you!</u> to our membership and the generous donors who make these annual awards possible. With your support, APCG encourages budding scholars to excel. Memberships, general contributions/donations, and profits from the *APCG Yearbook* and annual meetings contributed \$9,000.00 of the awards total, while \$10,350.00 came from donations to the Special Funds listed below, plus individual donations to support students at the meeting.

Student Paper & Poster Competition Winners

Doctoral Level

President's Paper Award for Outstanding Paper

Caitlyn Linehan, UC-Santa Barbara

Tom McKnight & Joan Clemens Paper Award

Mitchell Snyder, UC-Davis

Geosystems Applied Geography Paper Award

German Silva, UC-Santa Barbara

Master's Level

President's Paper Award for Outstanding Paper

Kate Prell, CSU-Long Beach

Tom McKnight & Joan Clemens Paper Award

Leah Shamlian, University Center of Westfjords, Iceland

Harry & Shirley Bailey Physical Geography Paper Award

Danielle Juarez, NAU

Poster Award (Graduate Level, PhD)

Sophia Arabadjis, UC-Santa Barbara

Undergraduate Level

President's Paper Award

Dani Savinon, Cal Poly Pomona

Geosystems Applied Geography Paper Award

Chris Guo, UC-Irvine

Poster Award (Undergraduate Level)

Caitlin Berry, Pasadena City College

Poster Award (Undergraduate Level)

Lindsey Most, CSU-San Bernardino

Grant & Scholarship Awardees

African Descent Student Travel Grant

Chevon Holmes UC-Davis

APCG Jan Monk Early Career Faculty Research Award

Jasmine Arpagian CSU-Sacramento

<u>Ford-Arreola Fieldwork-Archival Research Scholarship</u> (FAFARS)

Hanson Mike Grad NAU

Aila Bandagi Kandlakunta UN-Reno

Hoerauf Grant for Studies in Cartography and GIS

Jessica Raty, NAU

Danielle Juarez NAU

Carl de Joya CSU-Sacramento

Caitlyn Linehan UC-Santa Barbara

Mengya Xu University of Southern California

Indigenous Student Travel Grant

Hanson Mike NAU

Monica Pech Cardenas NAU

<u>Latino/a/ex Travel Scholarship</u> (LATS)

Melinda Collins CSU-Northridge

Germán Silva UC-Santa Barbara

Danielle Juarez NAU

Monica Pech Cardenas NAU

Margaret Trussell Award

Melinda Collins CSU-Northridge

Aila Bandagi Kandlakunta UN-Reno

Women's Network Award

Mengya Xu University of Southern California

Danielle Juarez NAU

Jessica Raty NAU

Monica Pech Cardenas NAU

Caitlin Berry Pasadena City College

Chevon Holmes UC-Davis

Gwenyth Greco CSU-Northridge

See you in October 2024 at Cal Poly Humboldt!